The New Year

Reflections: The Past Year (2014)

wpid-274_custom-efa872e7a347073668fff56c4d203299f9417425-s6-c30

Reflection is one of the most essential activities for a healthy life.

Over the past year I have been on a whirlwind of emotion, experiencing the very highs and lows of life! Some of which I can’t believe even happened this year as it seems like a life time ago. I’ve had my firsts, and my lasts of many interesting experiences in life. I have made some pretty rubbish decisions, and some pretty amazing ones! But overall I wouldn’t change a thing about the past year, although given a do-over I may do some things differently! So here are some of my highs and lows of the year:

I have been on a roller-coaster, darting here there and everywhere because of Uni! I started the year in Nottingham, finishing my first year of my degree, before moving to Colchester, then London/ Surrey, then Colchester then back to London/ Surrey. And now I’m thinking of trying out the south, possibly Brighton next year! Moving around has meant that I have met some amazing people, although few of them have become friends. So one thing to think about next year is making friends with these beautiful people!

I had my very first valentines, (completely by accident: we were just hanging out on the 13th and then it got to past midnight and the guy I was seeing ordered pizza and was like “happy valentines”) So that was fun. Shortly afterwards, we went in different directions and the dating ended abruptly.

My best friend and I decided to try dating to see if it could work (it didn’t) and I saw a totally different side to him that I would have never had seen otherwise (I still don’t know if it is a good thing, but it certainly opened my eyes!), I also landed a placement at Unilever (Aaaaah-mazing!) I have really enjoyed the experiences so far, and look forward to many more in the next six months!

My mental health has been all over the place this year, I’ve had some of the best months of my life, and some of the worst. But through it I have found the people who will stick by me through anything, the ones who are ashamed of me, and the ones who simply don’t understand, but are willing to fight for me anyway. The support I have received from friends and family as been incredible and the roller-coaster has shown me my limits, and made me understand myself a lot more than I ever have done in the past.

The key lessons I have learnt this year:

  • Have faith in humanity, sometimes they disappoint, but that is a risk you should take.
  • Always take the good things and the things you learnt from a bad situation, leave it behind and move on.
  • You don’t have to trust everyone or no-one. Everyone is different.
  • Some people just aren’t built in the way you need them to be, accepting that makes it easier to accept them.
  • Everyone has a lens they look through, after understanding that, it’s easier to understand why people do what they do
  • Thinking things through isn’t always the best way to proceed, but nor is “stuff it, lets do this”.
  • Learn from your mistakes!!
4 thoughts on “Reflections: The Past Year (2014)

  1. Iཿm impressed, I must say. Really not often do I encounter
    a weblog thatཿs each educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you have got hit the nail on the head.
    Your thought is excellent; the issue is something that not sufficient persons
    are talking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for something referring to this.

    Like

  2. There are some fascinating cut-off dates on this article but I donཿt
    know if I see all of them center to heart. There’s some validity
    but I will take maintain opinion until I look into it further.

    Good article , thanks and we wish more! Added to FeedBurner
    as effectively

    Like

  3. Hi there, just turned into aware of your blog through Google, and found
    that it’s really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels.
    Iཿll appreciate in case you continue this
    in future. Numerous people will likely be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

    Like

Please leave your comments here! Don't forget to also like the post if you found it useful!

